PLD Linux Forum Strona Główna PLD Linux Forum
Oficjalne forum dystrybucji PLD Linux

FAQFAQ  SzukajSzukaj  UżytkownicyUżytkownicy  GrupyGrupy
RejestracjaRejestracja  ZalogujZaloguj

Poprzedni temat «» Następny temat
PLD Live Issues
Autor Wiadomość
EmyrB 

Dołączył: 24 Wrz 2008
Posty: 9
Wysłany: 24 Wrzesień 2008, 11:39   PLD Live Issues

Hi All,

I have downloaded the PLD Live Stable ISO and it boots to desktop with no issues. I run the installer and it goes through the install process and tells me that it has successfully installed and I need to reboot my PC.

I do this and I get a message saying missing operating system. I know that the installer is still in beta, but is this a known issue?

Cheers

EmyrB
 
 
grizz 


Pomógł: 56 razy
Dołączył: 27 Kwi 2006
Posty: 995
Skąd: Kraków
Wysłany: 24 Wrzesień 2008, 11:46   

yeah...


It;s propablly a problem with grub.
_________________
http://galeria.firlej.org || http://grizz.pl
Pomóż rozwijać wiki uzytkowników PLD: http://pld-users.org
 
 
EmyrB 

Dołączył: 24 Wrz 2008
Posty: 9
Wysłany: 24 Wrzesień 2008, 15:55   

grizz napisał/a:
It;s propablly a problem with grub.


Any ideas how I fix it?
 
 
KrystianT 

Distro: PLD 3.0
Pomógł: 189 razy
Dołączył: 26 Paź 2005
Posty: 1920
Skąd: Kamionek
Wysłany: 24 Wrzesień 2008, 15:57   

I read that installer install system but doesn't write the mbr. You must chroot in your new instaled system and write the mbr with grub or lilo manualy...
_________________
Krystian T.
"Errare humanum est."
 
 
EmyrB 

Dołączył: 24 Wrz 2008
Posty: 9
Wysłany: 25 Wrzesień 2008, 11:59   

KrystianT napisał/a:
I read that installer install system but doesn't write the mbr. You must chroot in your new instaled system and write the mbr with grub or lilo manualy...


Okay... erm... how does one do this? Can I use the PLD Live system for this?
 
 
KrystianT 

Distro: PLD 3.0
Pomógł: 189 razy
Dołączył: 26 Paź 2005
Posty: 1920
Skąd: Kamionek
Wysłany: 25 Wrzesień 2008, 13:31   

EmyrB napisał/a:
how does one do this? Can I use the PLD Live system for this?
Of course
Boot from PLD live, run terminal and do following (or somethig else) (as root)
Kod:
mkdir /pld
mount -t <your filesystem type> /dev/<your partition where is pld> /pld

if you made more partition for your pld you should mount it too (/pld/home or other)
Kod:
mount -o bind /dev /pld/dev
mount -o bind /proc /pld/proc
chroot /pld
Now you are in your new instaled pld, you must only configure your bootloader and install it in mbr
Read this http://forum.pld-linux.org/viewtopic.php?t=4165 perhaps it help
_________________
Krystian T.
"Errare humanum est."
 
 
EmyrB 

Dołączył: 24 Wrz 2008
Posty: 9
Wysłany: 25 Wrzesień 2008, 16:27   

Ok. I have done what you have said and I have hit a wall, when I issue: -

Kod:
chroot /pld


I get: -

Kod:
sh: chroot: not found


Any ideas?

Cheers

EmyrB
 
 
KrystianT 

Distro: PLD 3.0
Pomógł: 189 razy
Dołączył: 26 Paź 2005
Posty: 1920
Skąd: Kamionek
Wysłany: 25 Wrzesień 2008, 17:24   

You call chroot as root? It is in /usr/sbin perhaps /usr/sbin/chroot /pld works. When not then
Kod:
poldek:/all-avail> search -f */chroot
Przeszukiwanie pakietów..........................................zrobione.
3 package(s) found:
coreutils-6.12-2.x86_64
klibc-utils-shared-1.5.12-1.x86_64
klibc-utils-static-1.5.12-1.x86_64

Install coreutils
_________________
Krystian T.
"Errare humanum est."
 
 
EmyrB 

Dołączył: 24 Wrz 2008
Posty: 9
Wysłany: 26 Wrzesień 2008, 12:39   

And still it goes on...

right I tried

Kod:
/usr/sbin/chroot /pld
as root and I get this error: -

Kod:
/bin/sh: No controlling tty (open /dev/tty: No such file or directory)
/bin/sh: warning: won't have full job control


Any ideas?
 
 
KrystianT 

Distro: PLD 3.0
Pomógł: 189 razy
Dołączył: 26 Paź 2005
Posty: 1920
Skąd: Kamionek
Wysłany: 26 Wrzesień 2008, 12:46   

Hmmm... xterminal is not tty... mayby ctr+alt+F2 for tty2 and than chroot? Later (or very later) I burn PLD liveCD and test chroot on it...
_________________
Krystian T.
"Errare humanum est."
 
 
dirdival 


Distro: PLD 2.0;3.0
Pomógł: 61 razy
Dołączył: 30 Kwi 2007
Posty: 554
Skąd: Legionowo
Wysłany: 26 Wrzesień 2008, 13:40   

Cytat:
chroot ... Any ideas?


Kod:
[live@pldlive ~]$ sudo su -
[root@pldlive ~]# fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sda: 40.0 GB, 40020664320 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 4865 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x373b373a

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1   *           1        2952    23711908+   7  HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda2            2953        2955       24097+  83  Linux
/dev/sda3            2956        3036      650632+  82  Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda4            3037        4865    14691442+   5  Extended
/dev/sda5            3037        4865    14691411   83  Linux
[root@pldlive ~]# mkdir /pld
[root@pldlive ~]# mount -t ext2  /dev/sda5 /pld
[root@pldlive ~]# mount -o bind /dev/ /pld/dev
[root@pldlive ~]# mount -o bind /proc /pld/proc
[root@pldlive ~]# chroot /pld
[root@pldlive /]# ls -lha
total 168K
drwxr-xr-x  32 root     root  4.0K Sep 26 14:19 .
drwxr-xr-x  32 root     root  4.0K Sep 26 14:19 ..
-rw-------   1 root     lp    1.0K Jan 20  2008 .rnd
drwxr-xr-x   2 root     root  4.0K Sep 19 15:05 bin
drwxr-xr-x   2 root     root  4.0K Sep 26 14:37 boot
drwxr-xr-x   3 root     root  4.0K Jun 26 22:58 build
drwxr-xr-x   3 root     root  4.0K Jun 26 22:58 cint
drwxr-xr-x  17 root     root   15K Sep 26 16:22 dev
drwxrwx---   3 dirdival users 4.0K Jun 14  2006 dyski
drwxr-xr-x  98 root     root  8.0K Sep 26 14:20 etc
drwxr-xr-x   2 root     root  4.0K Jun 26 22:58 fonts
-rw-r--r--   1 root     root     0 Sep 26 14:19 halt
drwxr-xr-x   4 root     root  4.0K Oct 30  2006 home
drwxr-xr-x   2 root     root   12K Jun 26 22:58 icons
drwxr-xr-x   8 root     root   28K Jun 26 22:58 include
drwxr-xr-x   2 root     root  4.0K Feb 14  2007 initrd
drwxr-xr-x   9 root     root  8.0K Jul 30 12:55 lib
drwx------   2 root     root  4.0K Aug 13  2007 lost+found
drwxr-xr-x   2 root     root  4.0K Jun 26 22:58 macros
drwxr-xr-x   3 root     root  4.0K Jun 26 22:58 man
drwxrwxr-x   7 root     disk  4.0K Sep 24 21:46 media
drwxr-xr-x   2 root     root  4.0K Oct 30  2006 mnt
drwxr-xr-x   5 root     root  4.0K Jul  2 23:23 opt
dr-xr-xr-x 116 root     root     0 Sep 26 16:21 proc
drwx------  66 root     root  4.0K Sep 25 23:44 root
drwxr-xr-x   3 root     root  4.0K Jul 30 12:55 sbin
drwxr-xr-x   2 root     root  4.0K Nov 12  2004 selinux
drwxr-x--x   2 root     root  4.0K Oct 30  2006 srv
drwxr-xr-x   2 root     root  4.0K Nov 12  2004 sys
drwxr-xr-x   6 root     root  4.0K Aug 13 02:15 test
drwxrwxrwt   4 root     root  4.0K Sep 26 14:20 tmp
drwxr-xr-x  33 root     root  4.0K Jun 26 22:58 tutorials
drwxr-xr-x  14 root     root  4.0K Jul 14 17:17 usr
drwxr-xr-x  15 root     root  4.0K Feb 10  2008 var
[root@pldlive /]# exit
[root@pldlive ~]# exit
[live@pldlive ~]$


[EDIT]
After chroot you have to umount all mounted devs (as root).
_________________
Cicho, cicho dzieci. To nie demony, nie diabły, gorzej ... to ludzie.
 
 
KrystianT 

Distro: PLD 3.0
Pomógł: 189 razy
Dołączył: 26 Paź 2005
Posty: 1920
Skąd: Kamionek
Wysłany: 26 Wrzesień 2008, 14:17   

Right. EmyrB have you before chroot mounted /dev and /proc?
_________________
Krystian T.
"Errare humanum est."
 
 
EmyrB 

Dołączył: 24 Wrz 2008
Posty: 9
Wysłany: 26 Wrzesień 2008, 16:47   

Sorry guys, I forgot to mount /proc doh doh!!

Anyway, now that I can chroot my mounted installed system how do I get grub into my mbr?

Cheers

EmyrB
 
 
KrystianT 

Distro: PLD 3.0
Pomógł: 189 razy
Dołączył: 26 Paź 2005
Posty: 1920
Skąd: Kamionek
Wysłany: 26 Wrzesień 2008, 17:05   

EmyrB napisał/a:
how do I get grub into my mbr?
One of links from google
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=224351
_________________
Krystian T.
"Errare humanum est."
 
 
EmyrB 

Dołączył: 24 Wrz 2008
Posty: 9
Wysłany: 29 Wrzesień 2008, 15:38   

So close, yet so far I am afraid.

I followed the advice of the link you gave me and I installed grub onto the installation, but now it gets so far and then stops: -

Kod:
Allowing users to login............................ [ Done ]
Resource Manager: Runlevel has been reached...........[ 5 ]


And then does nothing but just sit there.

Any ideas?

Cheers

EmyrB
 
 
Wyświetl posty z ostatnich:   
Odpowiedz do tematu
Nie możesz pisać nowych tematów
Nie możesz odpowiadać w tematach
Nie możesz zmieniać swoich postów
Nie możesz usuwać swoich postów
Nie możesz głosować w ankietach
Dodaj temat do Ulubionych
Wersja do druku

Skocz do:  

Powered by phpBB modified by Przemo © 2003 phpBB Group