PLD Linux Forum Strona Główna PLD Linux Forum
Oficjalne forum dystrybucji PLD Linux

FAQFAQ  SzukajSzukaj  UżytkownicyUżytkownicy  GrupyGrupy
RejestracjaRejestracja  ZalogujZaloguj

Poprzedni temat «» Następny temat
Beginner
Autor Wiadomość
Bloodshot772 

Dołączył: 07 Mar 2008
Posty: 16
Wysłany: 14 Marzec 2008, 04:32   

Alright Grizz, my brother just came back with the laptop. I hope by tomorrow ill be able to use it.
 
 
Bloodshot772 

Dołączył: 07 Mar 2008
Posty: 16
Wysłany: 16 Marzec 2008, 01:27   

Okay, so far I am almost there. I reach the stage where I must type in
"poldek --root=/pld -i setup FHS pwdutils dhcpcd nano geninitrd lilo mount login poldek --nodeps"
After i do, i get a repeating message saying unable to connect to ftp pld server, I know that i cannot, i am trying to install off the dvd because my computer doesn't have ethernet, i have a wireless card, What do i need to change in order for the installation source to be from the dvd and not the ftp server.

Amd64
sdc2 Linux file system ext3
 
 
KrystianT 

Distro: PLD 3.0
Pomógł: 189 razy
Dołączył: 26 Paź 2005
Posty: 1920
Skąd: Kamionek
Wysłany: 16 Marzec 2008, 08:15   

It's from man poldek:
Kod:
   Repository selection
       -s, --source=PATH
              Get packages info from repository under PATH
poldek --root=/pld --source=/where_you_have_rpms_on_dvd -i setup FHS pwdutils dhcpcd nano geninitrd lilo mount login poldek --nodeps
 
 
Bloodshot772 

Dołączył: 07 Mar 2008
Posty: 16
Wysłany: 16 Marzec 2008, 20:46   

alright, so since my dvd is in drive. F., the rpms are located in F:\PLD\RPMS. How would i write that?

poldek --root=/pld --source=/pld/rpms -i setup FHS pwdutils dhcpcd nano geninitrd lilo mount login poldek --nodeps ???


P.S= i dont really know what you mean by the code Repository selection.
 
 
grizz 


Pomógł: 56 razy
Dołączył: 27 Kwi 2006
Posty: 995
Skąd: Kraków
Wysłany: 16 Marzec 2008, 20:59   

Bloodshot772 napisał/a:

P.S= i dont really know what you mean by the code Repository selection.


poldek --help ;)
_________________
http://galeria.firlej.org || http://grizz.pl
Pomóż rozwijać wiki uzytkowników PLD: http://pld-users.org
 
 
KrystianT 

Distro: PLD 3.0
Pomógł: 189 razy
Dołączył: 26 Paź 2005
Posty: 1920
Skąd: Kamionek
Wysłany: 16 Marzec 2008, 21:15   

Bloodshot772 napisał/a:
my dvd is in drive. F
Drive F on windows? It's unusable. You must now where your dvd is mounted in linux (probably /media/cdrom) and then your source=/media/cdrom/pld/RPMS
Bloodshot772 napisał/a:
i dont really know what you mean by the code Repository selection.
It's from poldek manual... if you type man poldek you see it...
 
 
Bloodshot772 

Dołączył: 07 Mar 2008
Posty: 16
Wysłany: 16 Marzec 2008, 22:15   

Stil getting an error using =/media/cdrom/pld/rpms, It says error, cannot locate FHS, pwdutils, etc.

and with this repository stuff... i can find all the comands, man poldek, i get into some sort of command layout tool. But im not sure what to do from there

Could you give me detailed instructions? That'll be great, thx.
 
 
KrystianT 

Distro: PLD 3.0
Pomógł: 189 razy
Dołączył: 26 Paź 2005
Posty: 1920
Skąd: Kamionek
Wysłany: 16 Marzec 2008, 22:33   

Bloodshot772 napisał/a:
Stil getting an error using =/media/cdrom/pld/rpms
I say probably. I don't now where is mounted your dvd.
After you boot your computer from dvd type mount and let me see what you get (can you understand my English? ;)
_________________
Krystian T.
"Errare humanum est."
 
 
Bloodshot772 

Dołączył: 07 Mar 2008
Posty: 16
Wysłany: 16 Marzec 2008, 23:29   

hehe, alright, this is what i get.

none on / type tmpfs (rw,noatime)
none on /proc type proc (rw)
usbfs on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw)
sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw)
securityfs on sys/kernel/security type securityfs (rw)
none on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,gid=5,node=620)
none on /dev/shm type tmpfs (rw)
 
 
KrystianT 

Distro: PLD 3.0
Pomógł: 189 razy
Dołączył: 26 Paź 2005
Posty: 1920
Skąd: Kamionek
Wysłany: 17 Marzec 2008, 06:39   

Ok, let me see what you get after dmesg |grep DVD
_________________
Krystian T.
"Errare humanum est."
 
 
Bloodshot772 

Dołączył: 07 Mar 2008
Posty: 16
Wysłany: 18 Marzec 2008, 05:20   

Okay, i type it in and nothing happens... it was as if i were making a directory, i just enterred the phrase dmesg |grep DVD and I get no message, just a new blank line starting with [root@rescue /]#

I know that my DVD drive is IDE, and in linux it is hda
 
 
KrystianT 

Distro: PLD 3.0
Pomógł: 189 razy
Dołączył: 26 Paź 2005
Posty: 1920
Skąd: Kamionek
Wysłany: 18 Marzec 2008, 06:47   

Bloodshot772 napisał/a:
I know that my DVD drive is IDE, and in linux it is hda
Ok, than after booting from dvd do this:
mkdir /cdrom
mount -t iso9660 /dev/hda /cdrom
and now you should have your source in /cdrom/pld/rpms
!! Linux is case sensitive - look first how it is writen !!

ps. I suggest you need read http://www.linuxlots.com/~jam/index.html or http://www.northernjourney.com/opensource/newbies/ or other "linux for beginners"
_________________
Krystian T.
"Errare humanum est."
 
 
Bloodshot772 

Dołączył: 07 Mar 2008
Posty: 16
Wysłany: 19 Marzec 2008, 21:56   

I will Krystian, I would just like to have linux working first to learn with. So far I gotten things to work, In the poldek --root /source /FHS etc.. I had it working when i used capitals for the source PLD/RPMS, and i had to take out the nano command since it wasnt found, everything except nano was installed, When i get to the part where i change the #hda1, # hda2, the video shows him putting sda, I put sdc since that is my hdd root, and changed ext2 to ext3, Im not sure i did that properly because the next step was when I needed to type in command. sumthing like chroot... and It shows 3 errors, the video only showed 2, the 1 error the tutorial guy didnt have was that it said sumthing like "/dev/sdc is not o this disk". after, I tryed doing the password change and that said I am not autholrised to, but that didnt seem like a problem. When i rebooted my computer, PLD starts, and all the commands run through, but now I am stuck on a message saying. "Kernel panic =- not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(8,34)

Please help me out, Im so close! :mrgreen:
 
 
Bloodshot772 

Dołączył: 07 Mar 2008
Posty: 16
Wysłany: 20 Marzec 2008, 21:02   

I have been readin some forums and realised that I need to intergrate my ext3 support into my kernel, how do I do this? and would that mean I have to start up my cd boot and install kernel again?
 
 
KrystianT 

Distro: PLD 3.0
Pomógł: 189 razy
Dołączył: 26 Paź 2005
Posty: 1920
Skąd: Kamionek
Wysłany: 20 Marzec 2008, 21:58   

Bloodshot772 napisał/a:
I need to intergrate my ext3 support into my kernel, how do I do this?
You must boot from dvd and do all what you have doing by install, but skip install step and chroot into your system. Than you must generate new initrd with modules you need.
Here http://pl.docs.pld-linux...._geninitrd.html is written that you need to edit /etc/sysconfig/geninitrd or add option to geninitrd
Kod:
# geninitrd -v --with=ext3 --with=pdc202xx_new  /boot/initrd-2.6.16.35-1.gz 2.6.16.35-1
Of course you should it change for your system...

ps. sometimes is needed module for disk controller too...
 
 
Wyświetl posty z ostatnich:   
Odpowiedz do tematu
Nie możesz pisać nowych tematów
Nie możesz odpowiadać w tematach
Nie możesz zmieniać swoich postów
Nie możesz usuwać swoich postów
Nie możesz głosować w ankietach
Dodaj temat do Ulubionych
Wersja do druku

Skocz do:  

Powered by phpBB modified by Przemo © 2003 phpBB Group